Remove an account

To remove an account from the Chromebook, follow these steps:

  1. On the sign-in screen, click the account you want to remove.
  2. Click the downward arrow icon in the upper-right corner of the account picture.
  3. Select Remove this user.

Removing an account deletes it from the Chromebook but does not delete the Google Account or any data and settings synced with the account. To add a removed account back to the sign-in screen, just click Add person and sign in with it as if for the first time.

If you need to remove the Google Account with owner permissions, you'll need to powerwash the Chromebook.

Automatic removal of unused accounts

To save space on your Chromebook, the account that has not been used the longest will automatically be removed. Data and settings synced with the account won't actually be deleted, but any unsynced items, such as account photos and downloaded files, will be deleted. You can add a removed account anytime by signing in with its username and password.

Image

Arneil is a Chromebook expert and author of this help page. Help him improve this article by leaving feedback below.

Was this article helpful?